23 PSALM

lamb-on-pasture-450x230 (2)

 The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.  
He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters.
He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
 You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You have anointed my head with oil;  My cup overflows.  Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23 Simplified

King David wrote this Psalm when he was facing trouble.  David was writing from the position of being a sheep. He was familiar with shepherding sheep.

The Lord is my Shepherd.  This means I won’t experience any lack, nothing will be missing in my life.  Because I see God as my King, my Friend the One whom I trust.  He makes me sprawl out on green pastures, remember, I’m a sheep.

In Hebrew, the verse does not say shadow of death but the valley of dark shadow. Regardless, I have total and complete trust in God, I have nothing and no one to fear! His rod and His staff equally gives me comfort and correction to lean on. He will prepare a spread of blessings for me right in the presence of all my enemies. The cup He gives is satisfying-I no longer thirst after drinking from this cup. Nothing can ever shake me because-He will never forsake me. His grace and His mercy follows me everywhere I go. I will dwell in His house forever, and enjoy it like it’s my first time there! In awe, In honor, In love, In gratitude for my Shepherd.

 

 

Leave a Reply

